Spotlight Hobbies

My thoughts... *PIC*

I'm by no means a weathering expert, but I have looked at a lot of rust in my time. So here are a few thoughts that came to mind:

1, I would probably stick to finer grains for your rust. The larger sand grains seem to be a little on the large side for 1:25. Maybe if you look at the model in person it's not so obvious, but when you look at magnified photos, like if you were standing next to a real car, the 'rust' bits are quite large.

2. I'm not sure of the purpose of painting over the sand. If you were trying to imitate rust bubbles, they usually start from a place where the paint coating has been compromised, and the rust 'grows' under the paint, separating it from the steel below, creating a bubbled appearance. Typically this would start in small areas (like a paint chip, or a panel edge) and grow to the point that a large piece of the paint would flake off. You wouldn't typically get large bits of rust with little bits of paint on them, at least on the cars I've seen. Also, when the rust bubbles become quite large, it's not uncommon for a hole to have been created under the paint, that suddenly appears (much to your chagrin) when the rusty paint flake is removed. I've also seen rust bubbles occur when the panel has been rusted through from the back side, which immediately would reveal a hole once the paint is poked at (have even seen water drops emerge from those rust bubbles when poked).